Southern Illinois University

Southern Illinois University



Browse: Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators Collection Type

Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Faculty Senate. | Southern Illinois University Special Collections Research Center

Name: Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Faculty Senate.

Historical Note:

The first group to assume responsibility for the curriculum other than faculty as a whole was set up in the first year of President Pulliam's term, which was 1935. The successor to this committee, the Faculty Council, by statute recommends general requirements for degrees authorized by the Board of Trustees.  The President and Chief Officer of Instruction, (later to become the Vice President of Instruction), were the chairman and vice-chairman of this body. The Faculty Council was renamed in 1973 to Faculty Senate. The reason for this change was due to members believing that the term "council" did not correctly represent the type of legislation and governing that the body implemented.

The Faculty Senate is the body empowered to act as agent for the University faculty, with delegated power to formulate broad policies in regard to the educational functions of the University. The University Faculty consists of the President (now called Chancellor, SIUC, as of 1 Jan 1996), all professors, associate professors, assistant professors, instructors on continuing appointment, and other members of the academic staff. The Senate plays an important role in the governance structure of the University and is committed to shared governance not only as a concept but as a fundamental principle.

The Faculty Senate is charged to initiate, promote, and ensure the enforcement of policies involving academic and intellectual freedom and concerns itself in all matters of faculty status and welfare. There are 36 Senators, 6 of whom represent the non-tenure track faculty. The tenure/tenure track seats are determined by the number of the University's FTE faculty within each voting unit. All Senators serve three year terms.

Page Generated in: 0.091 seconds (using 125 queries).
Using 2.91MB of memory. (Peak of 3.07MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-2.1
Copyright ©2012 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign