Southern Illinois University

Southern Illinois University



Browse: Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators Collection Type

Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. College of Science. | Southern Illinois University Special Collections Research Center

Name: Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. College of Science.

Historical Note: At the November 17, 1972 meeting of the Board of Trustees, a resolution was passed establishing the College of Science. This new college was to be in operation as of January 1, 1973. The possibility of a separate College of Science had been under discussion among concerned faculty in the College of Liberal Arts and Science for several years. In July 1972 a memorandum from the Chair of each of the six Science departments requested that consideration be taken to effect the development of a separate College of Science. These six departments were the original components of the College of Science: Board of Trusteesany (RG 21-1), Chemistry and Biochemistry (RG 21-2), Geology (RG 21-3), Physiology (RG 21-7), Physics and Astronomy (RG 21-6), and Zoology (RG 21-8). In January 1973, the Department of Microbiology (RG 21-4) also transferred from Liberal Arts to the College of Science. The first Dean of the College of Science was Elbert Hadley.

Page Generated in: 0.075 seconds (using 107 queries).
Using 2.87MB of memory. (Peak of 3.02MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-2.1
Copyright ©2012 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign