Southern Illinois University

Southern Illinois University



Browse: Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators Collection Type

Southern Illinois University at Carbondale.  University Faculty. | Southern Illinois University Special Collections Research Center

Name: Southern Illinois University at Carbondale.  University Faculty.

Historical Note:

The first group to assume responsibility for the curriculum other than faculty as a whole was set up in the first year of President Pulliam's term.  The successor to this committee, the Faculty Council, by statute recommends general requirements for degrees authorized by the Board of Trustees.  The President and Chief Officer of Instruction, (later to become the Vice President of Instruction), were the chairman and vice-chairman of this body.

The University Faculty consists of the President (now called Chancellor, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, as of 1 Jan 1996), all professors, associate professors, assistant professors, instructors on continuing appointment, and other members of the academic staff designated as such by the faculty itself.  The University faculty formulates broad educational policies through its agent, the Faculty Senate members.  Each college, division, and school has its own faculty organization which has original jurisdiction on the determination of curricula, policies of admission and graduation, recommendation of degree candidates and student disciplinary matters.  Subdivisions of the faculty of colleges, divisions and schools include departmental faculties, or specialized faculty organizations.

For some purposes, joint faculties consisting of all or part of the faculties of one or more colleges, divisions, or schools are established to administer specialized functions requiring cooperative action of diversified academic nature.  Joint faculties are established and disbanded by the central administration.

Page Generated in: 0.061 seconds (using 91 queries).
Using 2.05MB of memory. (Peak of 2.18MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-2.1
Copyright ©2012 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign