Southern Illinois University

Southern Illinois University



Browse: Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators Collection Type

Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. Board of Trustees. | Southern Illinois University Special Collections Research Center

Name: Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. Board of Trustees.

Historical Note:

The modern iteration of the SIU Board of Trustees was established by Illinois Senate Bill No. 40 in 1949. Prior to 1949, Southern Illinois University had an autonomous Board of Trustees from its establishment in 1869 until 1917.  From 1917-1949 the university was governed by the Illinois Normal School Board, renamed the Teachers College Board in 1937.  This board was a consolidation of the Illinois normal schools' boards of trustees into a single governing board.  The operation, management, control, and maintenance of Southern Illinois University was transferred from the Teachers College Board to the newly created SIU Board of Trustees on July 1, 1949.

The mission of the Board of Trustees is to maintain the high quality of the university’s programs of instruction, research, and public service, monitor the development of these programs, and to sustain through these programs, its diverse and comprehensive, educational contribution to the people of Southern Illinois, the State, and the nation.  The Board of Trustees also has mission statements specific to the Carbondale and Edwardsville campuses.

The Board consists of seven members appointed by the Governor and two non-voting student members that are elected by the student body, one from the Carbondale and the other from the Edwardsville campuses.  In addition, per state statute, the Superintendent of Public Instruction, or his or her chief assistant for liaison with higher education when designated to serve in his or her place, serves as an ex-officio member of the board.  Elected officers of the Board of Trustees are Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary.  Appointed officers of the Board of Trustees are Executive Secretary, Treasurer, and General Counsel and serve at the pleasure of the Board.

The Board consists of several subcommittees.  The Executive Committee includes the Chair of the Board and two elected members. The Executive Committee has authority to transact such routine business as may arise during the recess of the Board and to act for the Board in all matters of an emergency nature upon which immediate decisions are necessary for the present welfare of the University.  Other committees include the Academic Matters Committee, Architecture and Design Committee, Finance Committee, and Audit Committee.  Trustees can also serve on boards of organizations related to the University as well as other organizations such as: State Universities Civil Service Merit Board; Board of Directors, Southern Illinois University Foundation; Board of Directors, Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville Foundation; Joint Trustee Committee for Springfield Medical Education Programs; Board of Directors, the Association of Alumni, Former Students and Friends of Southern Illinois University, Incorporated; and Board of Directors, Alumni Association of Southern Illinois University Edwardsville.

Sources: Southern Illinois University System, "About the Board of Trustees," (accessed January 26, 2018).
Note Author: Cassidy Ward

Page Generated in: 0.079 seconds (using 125 queries).
Using 2.93MB of memory. (Peak of 3.08MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-2.1
Copyright ©2012 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign